Northern Territory Research Advisory Committee


The Northern Territory Research Advisory Committee (NT RAC) formerly the NT FRAB, is an Australian Government statutory authority that was established by the FRDC in March 2016 under the Primary Industries and Energy Research and Development Act 1989 (PIRD Act). The committee works on behalf of a diverse and important set of local stakeholders that includes:

  • Aboriginal communities;
  • the commercial seafood industry;
  • the recreational and tourism fishing sector;
  • the Northern Territory Government;
  • the broader community that has in interest in the services provided by, as well as the integrity of, the Northern Territory’s aquatic environments.

The NT RAC maintains responsibility to a core set of stakeholders that include the commercial fisheries, aquaculture, indigenous and seafood management sectors as well as the FRDC Board, FRDC various partner groups and the wider research community.


  • Rik Buckworth – Chair
  • David Ciaravolo
  • David Crook
  • Bryan McDonald
  • Heidi Mumme
  • Matthew Osborne
  • Natasha Stacey
  • Katherine Winchester


Priority list:

Call for applications

Stakeholder workshops


FRDC Management Contacts:

Nicole Stubing – Executive Officer (M 0468 590 642; E Nicole.stubing@frdc.com.au)

Leah Fergusson – Secretariat (M 0402 422 605; E leah.fergusson@frdc.com.au)


Meeting dates: 

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Wednesday 7 August 2019

Wednesday 23 October 2019


Associated IPAs:

Australian Barramundi Farmers’ Association IPA

Australian Prawn Farmers’ Association IPA

Pearl Consortium IPA


Related projects are listed below