Tasmania Research Advisory Committee


The Tasmanian Research Advisory Committee (TASRAC) was formed in 2017. It is one of a number of similar bodies established throughout Australia to assist state ministers responsible for fisheries, the FRDC, other fisheries research, development and extension funding agencies, and research providers. The Committee is composed of representatives from the commercial and recreational capture fisheries, the aquaculture industry, community stakeholders, major research providers and the State Government, and is directed by an independent Chair.

The Tasmanian Research Advisory Committee has developed a RD&E Plan which provides a framework to identify the key strategic research needs of the fisheries and aquaculture sector under its jurisdiction from 2018 – 2023.



  • Ian Cartwright – Chair
  • Bryan Denny
  • Caleb Gardner  
  • Julian Harrington
  • Mick Hortle
  • Rich Little
  • Mark Nikolai
  • Hilary Revill
  • Sean Riley
  • John Sansom
  • Greg Woodham             


Priority list:

Call for applications

Stakeholder workshops


FRDC Management Contacts:

Skye Barrett – Executive Officer (M 0419 935 945; E skye.barrett@frdc.com.au)

Alison Connelly – Secretariat (M 0437 694 485; E alison.connelly@frdc.com.au)


Meeting dates:  

TASRAC meeting no. 10 – 11 April 2019

TASRAC meeting no. 11 – 25 July 2019

TASRAC meeting no. 12 – 24 October 2019


Associated IPAs:

Abalone Council of Australia IPA  

Australian Abalone Growers Association IPA  

Oysters Australia IPA

Southern Rock Lobster IPA

Tasmanian Salmonid Growers Association IPA  


Related projects are listed below