Published: 6 September 2021 Updated: 28 November 2023
Table of contents

About the Board

The Board comprises up to nine directors who are appointed, in accordance with sections 17 and 77 of the Primary Industries Research and Development Act 1989 (the PIRD Act), as follows:

  • The Chair is selected and appointed by the Minister
  • The Managing Director is selected and appointed by the Board on terms and conditions determined by the Board.
  • The other directors are appointed by the Minister on the nomination of a selection committee. The Minister appoints the selection committee based on the nominations of FRDC's representative organisations.


  • Mr John Williams - Chair
  • Dr Chris Calogeras - Deputy Chair
  • Professor Colin Buxton
  • Dr Patrick Hone - Managing Director
  • Dr Saranne Cooke
  • Mrs Suzanne Hullick
  • Mr Boris Musa
  • Mr Alex Ogg
  • Dr Lyndal Thorburn

Directors are selected based on their expertise in one or more of the following fields:

  • commodity production
  • commodity processing
  • commodity marketing
  • conservation of natural resources
  • management of natural resources
  • science
  • technology and technology transfer
  • environmental and ecological matters
  • economics
  • administration of research and development
  • finance
  • business management
  • communication
  • government policy and public administration.

Directors are appointed for a term not exceeding three years. The Managing Director holds office at the Board's pleasure. All Directors other than the Managing Director are appointed on a part-time basis.

The Board engages regularly with FRDC stakeholders :

Upcoming Board meetings

Board # Meeting date Meeting purpose Meeting location
202 14-15 Feb 2024 Board meeting Port Lincoln SA
203 17-18 Apr 2024 Board meeting Townsville QLD
204 12-13 Jun 2024 Board meeting Launceston/ Beauty Point TAS
205 21 -22 Aug 2024 Board meeting Canberra
206 20-21 Nov 2024 Board meeting Canberra
207 19-20 Feb 2025 Board meeting Hobart/Dover TAS
208 16-17 Apr 2025 Board meeting Coffs Harbour/Yamba NSW
209 11-12 Jun 2025 Board meeting Perth WA
210 20-21 Aug 2025 Board meeting Canberra
211 19-20 Nov 2025 Board meeting  Canberra
View Quicklinks